Woodstock Film Festival Honors Best of Indie Film

Source: Mid-Hudson News
September 26, 2011


The 12th Anniversary Woodstock Film Festival Maverick Awards were presented Saturday night in Woodstock honoring the best in independent film. Awards presented included:

* The Lee Marvin Award for BEST FEATURE NARRATIVE: On The Ice, Dir. Andrew O. MacLean.
* The Maverick Award for BEST FEATURE DOCUMENTARY: Semper Fi: Always Faithful, Dir: Tony Hardmon & Rachel Libert (Winner),Skateistan: Four Wheels and a Board in Kabul, Dir: Kai Sehr (Honorable Mention) and Dolphin Boy, Dir: Dani Menkin and Yonatan Nir (Honorable Mention).
* The Maverick Award for BEST ANIMATION: Luminaris, Dir. Juan Pablo Zaramella.
* The Diane Seligman Award for BEST SHORT NARRATIVE: We're Leaving, Dir. Zachary Treitz (Winner), Block, Dir. Chadd Harbold (Honorable Mention).
* The Diane Seligman Award for BEST STUDENT SHORT FILM: The Recorder Exam, Dir. Bora Kim (Winner), Manhattan Melody, Dir: Sasha Gordon (Runner Up), Babyland, Dir: Marc Fatello (Honorable Mention), Bayou Black, Dir. Jonas Carpignano (Honorable Mention), Gravity, Dir. Pamela Romanowsky (Honorable Mention).
* The Diane Seligman Award for BEST SHORT DOCUMENTARY: Poetry of Resilience, Dir: Katja Esson (Winner), The Thing That Happened, Dir. Andrew Walton (Honorable Mention).
* The Haskell Wexler Award for BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: On The Ice, Director of Photography: Lol Crawley (Winner)
* James Lyons Award for BEST EDITING of a FEATURE NARRATIVE: Tilt, Kostadin Kostadinov, Zorica Nikolova (Winners), 96 Minutes, Aram Nigoghossian (Honorable Mention).
* James Lyons Award for BEST EDITING of a FEATURE DOCUMENTARY: Bombay Beach, Alma Har'el, Joe Lindquist (Winners), Semper Fi: Always Faithful, Purcell Carson (Honorable Mention)
* The James Lyons Awards for BEST EDITING were presented by accomplished editors Sabine Hoffman, Sabine Krayenbuhl, and Doug Abel.
* HONORARY TRAILBLAZER AWARD: CEO of The Creative Coalition Robin Bronk.
* HONORARY MAVERICK AWARD: Director Tony Kaye (American History X).
* MEERA GANDHI GIVING BACK AWARD: Actor Mark Ruffalo (Reservation Road, The Kids Are All Right).
* EXCELLENCE IN ACTING AWARD: Actor Ellen Barkin (Another Happy Day, Sea of Love).

A special Tribute to Gary Winick honored the filmmaker and producer who died in February from brain cancer at age 49.